Junior D Championship


Game:  Cuala V St Maurs in Hyde Park at 3pm on Sunday 16th June 2013


Result:  Cuala 2-8 St Maurs 1-4        Half Time:  Cuala 0-5 St Maurs 1-1


Having won the Junior D championship in 2012 Cuala took to the field on Sunday with a newly formed team to compete in the this year’s championship. There were a lot of introductions in the warm up and it did take the lads some time to settle, but once this Cuala team got going they proved a much stronger outfit than there seasoned opponents.  Maurs opened the scoring with a fine long range point and then burly full forward Johnny Colgan responded with a nicely clipped point. Then came Maurs best move of the match and a high ball was fielded bu their full forward then he dispatched it to the net. This was a test for this new Cuala team, they could fold and let Maurs win it out or they could start to gel and get themselves back into the game and the latter happened.

A smartly taken short kick led Cuala to work the ball down the clubhouse side of the pitch and from there Boots blasted over the bar. The Cuala half back line had now taken over, Chief and Hayser were bombing forward and with Niall James in superb free taking form, including a 45 that sailed over the bar, Cuala went in at the break a point up 0-05 to 1-01.


The opening ¼ of the second half belonged to Cuala, with Gary Widger powering into the game and Stephan Callanan dominant at full back Cuala took control and 2 quick goals ended the contest. The first was when Widger burst through the Maurs defense and laid off a good ball to Johnny Colgan who finished well, the second was when Niall James showed his pace and nerve to slot home from 10 yards. Nick Cosgrave was totally in control of the middle and with Cuala introducing a lot of quality from the bench the Maurs were never really going to get back into it. Cuala in the end ran out comfortable winners 2-08 to 1-04 much to the delight of new Manager Michael Fitzsimons.



Derek Dunne, Jack Butler, Stephen Callanan, Ben Fennell, Damien Hayes, David Moloney, Conor O’Sullivan(Colman O’Drisceoill) , Nick Cosgrave, Conor Gallagher, Niall James 1-03, Darren Boothman 0-01 (Shane O’Brien), Anthony Higgins 0-01 (Donal Lane0-01), Mick Kennedy (c )( Garry Widger) , Jonny Colgan 1-01 (Stephen Clancy 0-01) , Paddy Murdock




Michael Fitzsimons, Enda McGowan Paul Linnane