Shane O Brien 2Cuala v St Peregrines, Shanganagh Park, Junior F Hurling Championship
Cuala for the first time in its history entered 4 hurling teams into Championship competitions this season.
With a walkover and a narrow loss behind them, a well prepared and established St Peregrines stood in the way of our newest amalgam team making an impact on the championship. The black-shirted visitors scored first but Cuala kept in touch throughout and it was even at half time.
The move of the match came in the second half involving Neil Kelly clearing from the back, and tightly marked passes through Brian Murphy, Emmet Murphy and Luke Brennan all lazer accurate to be finished by Shane O’Brien’ low shot -just wide! The goal did come soon after when David Nash got into space after one of the many hard-fought drives into the Peregrine’s square. This goal provided the winning gap and this Cuala band of football converts, old dogs and fearless minors stole the tough but sporting encounter.
Cuala 1-15   St Peregrine 1-12
Tiernan Lane
Anthony Higgins
Denis Monaghan
Neasan MacGearailt
James McCarthy
Neil Kelly
Fionn O’Tighernaigh
Shane O’Brien
Brían Ó’Murchú
Stevie McDonnell
Karl Wolahan
Emmet Murphy
Luke Brennan
Ken Fitzgerald
Davy Nash
Cian Rellis            32mins
Jacob Brennan    43mins
Brian Coronella    43mins
Michael Kennedy 55mins
Barry O’Connell   51mins
Donagh Healy
Garrett McDermott
Linda McCarthy
Tadgh Murphy
Eugene Murphy